Posted in Introvert, Marriage, Stories, The Laughing Box, The Real Life

Is There A Light At The End Of The Tunnel?

Yes, there is.

My husband and I moved from my hometown almost a year and a half ago so that we could live with his parents (not as bad as you would think) and finish our degrees.

We got stuck in a loop in my hometown where we had good jobs (both store managers in retail), a rent house, and vehicles. Life was easy, it was comfortable.

Moving here has not been easy nor comfortable. I spent three months in what I can only describe as shock. I had never lived so far from my family, my friends, and my comfort zone. Everything I had ever experienced could not prepare me for those first three months. Eventually I accepted my new life.

However, life did not get easy or comfortable. It is simple to say that this past year and a half has been the most trying time of both my marriage and my adult life. Let me be the first to tell you that adulting really sucks sometimes.

We have struggled with our finances, with me not having a vehicle, our sanity since we aren’t alone, with going to school and balancing jobs on top of that. Life would be so much simpler if we could just go to school and not worry about holding down a job. These kids who go to school with no financial worries have no idea how good they have it. Seriously, you better love your mom and dad immensely.

After all of the struggle we have been through I can finally see the end of it.

Friday I spoke with my adviser and he informed me that I only need ten more hours to graduate. He enrolled me in the necessary courses. Not only am I at the end of my college experience but he also has helped me fix my resume. I can see the light so much clearer now.

In seven months I will purchase my first vehicle, right at eight months I will be graduating from college, and in some point in between that time I will be interviewing and getting my first out-of-college job.

The end is here and it isn’t the end of the world. I can get my sanity back, my comfort zone, and the easy life.

The struggles will continue for the next eight months but I am much happier taking on eight months rather than another year and a half.

I am ready to go out and live my life with my husband again.

Bring. It. On.

 

Leave a Reply

