Posted in Books, Gaming, The Laughing Box, The Real Life

THE FAT NERD INSIDE OF ME

I was going to bore you with a topic on politics and how much I hate the planet we live on (let’s go to another planet already, k?), but then I read a post about playing video games with your children and thought about my husband (and everyone says, “AWE!”).

Except we don’t have kids, so that isn’t the kind of post you get today. Sorry, pal.

I know I have mentioned my childhood a teeny tiny bit but I haven’t gone into the fullness of my nerdom.

I am the youngest of six children (you can read about that on my about page) with three older brothers and two older sisters. My sisters are not nerds or geeks or anything of the sort. Well, my oldest sister is a bit of a book nerd but she has four children soooo (and she is a wicked artist). But they’re not the type of nerd I am talking about today.

I am a video game nerd.

I will admit that I do not play as often or for as long as I did when I was in my teens but I have my moments.

When I was in High School I played the shit out of Halo 3… I was good too. Better than the middle-aged dudes who came home after work every day, drank beer, and played Halo. I really played only after I finished my homework and on the weekends (before I got a job).

dpXnAUL

My teens were not when my nerdom began though. No, no, no my brothers convinced my parents (somehow) to let them get a Super Nintendo. I have no idea how old I was but I remember playing it. The tiny controller was just fine because it fit in my tiny child hands, though sometimes I couldn’t get to the buttons fast enough.

nintendo-64-3_o_614634

My husband wrote about finding his long lost love of Star Wars Rogue Squadron II: Rogue Leader the other day after thinking he was going to have to buy it for almost $100 on Amazon.

I remember playing games like Super Mario World (Yoshi will forever be one of my fav characters in a game), Paper Boy, Star Wars games (Return of the Jedi was pretty epic), and Mortal Kombat. Wow talk about a blast from the past. One of my brothers was super obsessed with Mortal Kombat. Remember the cheat code books you could buy? Well if he couldn’t find those he would spend hours finding out the codes on his own and filled notebooks with cheats. Of course, I never used them because he wouldn’t let us touch those notebooks. What a meany.

funny-video-game-pie-chart

Alas, I digress.

So the Super Nintendo was like WHOA, I mean you could play little animated dudes with a controller and ten inch TV (not kidding). It was a different kind of world.

Then a few years or so later we got the Nintendo 64. Say, what??? I was looking at the games I used to play on that console and was getting all kinds of excited as I took a walk down memory lane. There were some seriously epic games on the 64.

5555387_orig.png

My absolute fave games from that console were Goldeneye, Diddy Kong Racing (I need this in my life), Perfect Dark (the new version on the 360 was a disappointment), and Mario Kart 64. Now I am not trying to say that since the 64 that games haven’t had the same effect as OMG I CAN’T BELIEVE I FORGOT ABOUT THAT, it is just that I am older now and it has been far longer since the Super Nintendo and 64 were around in my life.

images (3)

There have been plenty of games since then that have caught my attention and that I will forever go back to. Halo: Combat Evolved, Mass Effect, Oblivion, Skyrim, Witcher, KOTOR, and Republic Commando. Those rank pretty high on the list.

Much like my reading my nerdiness for video games is a love for fiction and science fiction. I love space games far too much and I love fantasy. The fantasy has to be done right though. It has to be an RPG. I have strayed away from multiplayer games. My social bar has become slim to nothing, especially after working nine hours a day around people and having someone in my ear talking the entire time… Seriously, I get too worn out by customers. True story.

So playing an RPG is like playing my favorite book on the screen with a controller in my hand. The only thing better is watching a movie but they have to be really good if they’re going to match up to the book. I wonder how well I could create book characters in Dungeons and Dragons… Food for thought.

So if you were wondering why I called this post The Fat Nerd Inside of Me, well I feel like you guys only get to see the book nerd side of me and not what is really lying dormant underneath all of this black and white text.

I am planning on writing about my favorite bands, music, and the songs that really tap into my creativity. Beside booze, music gets me writing faster than anything else.

I hope you have enjoyed this little trip down memory lane! Thank you for reading!

Hobey-Ho!

 

Leave a Reply

