Posted in Gaming, The Laughing Box, The Real Life

Ranting… No Raving

Today I want to write about two subjects that have my blood going a wee bit crazy this week.

The first subject is what offends me and what doesn’t offend me.

Listen here people, I grew up with FIVE older siblings. There isn’t much that you can say to me that will offend me. Unless you are insulting my family, and just focusing on me, there is a lot you can say.

However, (always a but, right? Not this time) when you insult the characteristics of who I am, what I am worth, or my intelligence. Well, then we have a problem.

I stumbled over a blogger’s post yesterday evening (or was it Monday?) and it was in regard to how people view video games and their reactions on the topic. You would think, as I did, that it would be filled with sources and actual thought….

Not even a little.

This dude wrote that video games improve your vision…

IMPROVE your vision.

If that doesn’t give you an idea of what garbage I read, then please continue.

He went on to attack Old Religious People (why?), Feminists (of course), extroverts (umm, okay?), Science Professors (I am LOLing here), AND the regressive left (because why not?). And that ladies and gentleman is why people do not take gamers seriously.

This kid is actually trying to give me “facts” that back up his statements. The sources are not even sources, are opinions of people (not the vast majority), and an article he misinterpreted.

I know I find myself in arguments with dumb people that I can’t win, but I hope that someone else sees this and understands his ignorance.

You can’t fix dumb… Unfortunately.

Okay, I am done ranting.

The second thing I want to tell is that I am FINALLY starting to outline my novel (with the best story angles) and have started with actually writing it.

2016-04-13
Ignore the stupid chapter name

 

 

This story has been stuck in my head for two years and seriously needs to get out. Like right now. You know, before I forget anything.

Anyway, that is all I have for you today. I hope you are entertained enough by this to wait for another post in a few more days. Or five.

2 thoughts on “Ranting… No Raving

  1. Ok ok ok, I admit it! I’m the who one wrote the article about it improving vision. I’ve been gaming for over 25 years, and you know what?! I can spot a field mouse scurrying from a 1,000 yards away. I speak facts, man so I don’t need to cite my work.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

